Fast 2-Lane Service
In a hurry? Our two-lanes facility provides faster turn-around so you can get back in your car and move on with your day!
Clean Waiting Area
You want to be comfortable while you wait for your smog inspection to be finished and we provide a clean and tidy waiting area for you to do just that.
30 Day Free Retest
Worried that your car might fail its smog test? In this case we will provide one free retest within 30 days of your original smog inspection.
Frequently Asked Questions
Smog Test and Smog Repair Vacaville, CA
What is a smog test?
A smog test is a simple check-up performed on your car. The inspection is conducted in three distinct parts.
The first step is a visual inspection to ensure the emission control devices are properly installed and connected. The second step is a functional test to determine whether the warning light is functioning correctly. The final step involves placing the vehicle on a dyne (special testing device) and an emission reading is gathered through a probe positioned in the tailpipe of the vehicle. The results are then analyzed.
If the vehicle passes the inspection, the owner receives a certificate attesting that the vehicle passed. Otherwise, if the vehicle does not pass, the technician will inform the owner of the necessary repairs. All repairs must be applied in order to renew registration or register the vehicle.
Still have questions? Call us (707) 564-1011
What is a smog & repair?
A smog repair involves making adjustments to a vehicle’s emissions so that it can meet California’s emission standards. The state of California requires that a vehicle owner make at least $450 worth of emission repairs performed by a licensed and trained technician. Home-mechanic repairs are not discouraged but will not be counted towards the $450 minimum.
Do I need a smog check?
Not all vehicles must get a smog check. Additionally, some vehicles only need a passing smog check when they are being sold or being registered in California after previously being registered in another state. Whether or not a vehicle needs a smog check depends on the type of vehicle, the model-year, and the area in which the vehicle is registered. Under California vehicle emissions control laws and regulations, you must get a smog check for your car in the following cases.
When you transfer a vehicle that is four or less model years old a smog certification is not required. (Determine the oldest-qualifying year model by subtracting three from the current year.) The four or less model years old rule does not apply to diesel powered vehicles. A smog transfer fee will be collected from the new owner . When a vehicle is more than four model years old, a seller must provide evidence of a current smog certification except when one of the following occurs:
How often do I need to get smogged?
Vehicles registered in areas subject to the biennial smog certification program are required to submit evidence of a smog certification every other renewal period. Starting January 1, 2005, owners of vehicles six or less model years old will pay an annual smog abatement fee for the first six registration years instead of being required to provide a biennial smog certification. The registration renewal notice mailed to you by the department will indicate if a smog certification is required. If a smog certification is required and you have not had a smog inspection, you may still pay your registration fees to avoid any late fees. However, you will not receive your new registration or year sticker until the smog information has been received by DMV.
Does my vehicle require a smog inspection?
Smog inspections are required unless your vehicle is:
Who is responsible for the inspection when a car is sold?
The seller is required to provide the buyer with a valid smog inspection certification at the time of the sale or transfer. Smog certifications are good for 90 days from the date of issuance.
The inspection is not required on a transfer if a biennial smog certification was submitted to DMV within 90 days prior to the vehicle transfer date (a vehicle inspection report may be required for proof of certification).
NOTE: Smog certifications are not required for transfers that occur for a gasoline powered motor vehicle that is four or less model years old. (Determine the oldest-qualifying year model by subtracting three from the current year) the four or less model years old rule does not apply to diesel powered vehicles. A smog transfer fee will be collected from the new owner.
Which counties require a smog inspection for the registration renewal?
Counties that Require a Smog Inspection for Vehicle Registration Renewal:
Alameda, Butte, Colusa, Contra Costa, Fresno, Glenn, Kern, Kings, Los Angeles, Madera, Marin, Merced, Monterey, Napa, Nevada, Orange, Sacramento, San Benito, San Francisco, San Joaquin, San Luis Obispo, San Mateo, Santa Barbara, Santa Clara, Santa Cruz, Shasta, Solano, Stanislaus, Sutter, Tehama, Tulare, Ventura, Yolo, Yuba
There are six counties that require smog certifications within certain Zip Codes only. These counties are:
El Dorado, Placer, Riverside, San Bernardino, San Diego, and Sonoma.
Find out if your Zip Code is included.
Still have questions? Call us (707) 564-1011